Truskett Named Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science

Head shot of Dr. Thomas Truskett in a dark gray suit with a burnt orange tie with a light gray background.

Tom Truskett, professor and department chair of the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, has been named a fellow of the world’s largest general scientific society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Fellows of the AAAS are elected by their peers in recognition of their scientifically or socially distinguished work to advance science or its applications. Truskett is being honored for his contributions to our understanding of the structure and dynamics of complex fluids and biomolecular systems through use of computational methods.

His work focuses on three fundamental areas—self-assembly at the nanoscale, dynamics of confined liquids and structural arrest of complex fluids. The research has a wide variety of applications ranging from biomedical imaging, such as noninvasive monitoring of tumors, to the development of highly-concentrated, highly-specific therapeutic proteins that can be administered at home to treat diseases from allergies to cancer with fewer side effects.

This year, 396 members have been selected for this honor by AAAS, an organization known for its publication of Science and other journals that reach nearly 10 million scientists worldwide. Truskett joins three other faculty members from The University of Texas at Austin who will be inducted this year during the AAAS Annual Meeting February 17, 2018 in Austin. Other recognized UT Austin faculty members are:

  • Rueben A. Gonzales (College of Pharmacy, Department of Psychology) For distinguished contributions to the field of alcohol research, particularly using neurochemical methods to elucidate mechanisms of action that underlie behavioral effects of ethanol.
  • Michael J. Krische (Department of Chemistry) For distinguished contributions to the field of metal catalysis and chemical synthesis, particularly for pioneering studies on hydrogen-mediated C-C bond formation.
  • Philip M. “Uri” Treisman (Department of Mathematics, Dana Center for Science and Mathematics Education) For distinguished contributions to practices, tools and policies that increase equity and excellence in mathematics learning, and for leadership to expand engagement in this goal.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted on: