1990s Honorees

The inaugural class of Academy honorees includes 70 Texas ChE alumni, all of whom have been recognized as Distinguished Engineering Graduates by the Cockrell School of Engineering. Honorees are organized by decade of their earliest graduation year, then alphabetically by last name. (*deceased)

1920s          1930s          1940s          1950s          1960s          1970s          1980s          1990s

Dr. Van Truskett (B.S. ’96)


Alumna and Academy Member Van TruskettVan Truskett is a highly accomplished inventor and leads jetting technology development for Canon Nanotechnologies Inc. Dr. Truskett’s innovations have solved many of the fundamental and important problems for enabling nanoscale manufacturing in semiconductors, hard disk drives and flexible films for display applications.

After graduating, Dr. Truskett worked for equipment manufacturing startup Molecular Imprints Inc., a company that was spun out of research conducted in the Cockrell School and founded by two professors. In 2014, Molecular Imprints’ semiconductor business was acquired by Canon Inc. and is now known as Canon Nanotechnologies Inc.

During her career, Dr. Truskett has developed multiple innovations in drop-on-demand dispense methods to enable the production of industry-leading, high-resolution, low-cost-of-ownership nanoimprint lithography systems for hard disk drives, semiconductors and flat panel display applications. These systems, known as Jet and FlashTM Imprint Lithography, have revolutionized the approach to manufacturing nanoscale patterns by making it possible to directly print features onto substrates. She has introduced many new jetting systems over the last 10 years. Dr. Truskett’s work has taken jetting technology from scholarship to practice in the United States and Asia, enabling a novel path for lower production costs for the semiconductor industry.

Dr. Truskett is the recipient of the 2014 Industrial Research & Development Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the 2016 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award for Technology Innovation from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas.

<< Return to 1980s Honorees

Posted on: