Roger Bonnecaze Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Roger T. Bonnecaze, William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in the McKetta Department of Chemical EngineeringRoger T. Bonnecaze, the William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, has been elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

AAAS fellows are chosen annually by their peers to recognize their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Bonnecaze was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of computational engineering, particularly for theoretical modeling and design of complex fluids and nanomanufacturing systems. He is co-director of Nanomanufacturing Systems for Mobile Computing and Energy Technologies (NASCENT), a research center based at UT Austin and funded by the National Science Foundation.

Four other UT Austin faculty members were also elected AAAS fellows this year, including:  Richard Warren Aldrich, professor in the Department of Neuroscience in the College of Natural Sciences;Arumugam Manthiram, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering; Stanley Roux, professor of molecular biosciences in the College of Natural Sciences; Karen Vasquez, professor in the Division of Pharmacology and Toxicology in the College of Pharmacy.

The new fellows will be honored during the AAAS Fellows Forum at the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California. They join 69 previously honored AAAS fellows at The University of Texas at Austin.

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted on: