Department is No.1 for NSF Fellowships Second Year in a Row

The McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering houses more National Science Foundation (NSF) Fellowship recipients than any other chemical engineering department nationwide for 2014. Thirteen McKetta students recently received NSF Fellowships to support their graduate studies, making it the second year in a row for Mcketta to be No 1 for number of NSF recipients.

“We are so proud of these talented students who are honored by prestigious NSF fellowships based on their academic track records and their visions for impactful engineering research,” said Tom Truskett, chair of the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering.

The highly competitive NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. Since 1952, NSF has recognized and supported outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. Fellows receive support for three years that includes annual stipends of $32,000, full tuition, medical insurance coverage, opportunities for international research and professional development and TeraGrid Supercomputer access. The graduate institution also receives a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance.

The graduate students awarded the Graduate Research Fellowships (GRF) in 2014 represent a diverse group of individuals. Among the 2,000 awardees, 1,069 are women, 382 are from underrepresented minority groups, 55 are persons with disabilities, and 37 are veterans.

This year, among the winners from the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, 7 of the students were admitted students and 1 was an undergraduate student. These students, along with their research leaders and groups, are conducting research in areas such as materials, energy, pharmaceuticals, and optimization.

Admitted Students:
Peter Attia
Jacob Clary
Andrew Crothers
Jennifer Moffitt
Michael Orella
Julie Robinson
Alla Zamarayeva
Current Students:
Meghali Chopra
Katie Haning
Jessica Hung
Cherrelle Thomas
Ellen Wagner
Undergrad Students:
Mark Goldman

Posted on: