Professors To Be Honored at 2019 AIChE Annual Conference

Three professors in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin will be recognized for their outstanding contributions to their field by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) at the 2019 AIChE Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL, November 10-15, 2019.


Hal Alper will receive the Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Division Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a division member for his or her dedication and service to the profession of food engineering, pharmaceutical engineering, and/or bioengineering in general, and to Division 15 in particular.



Michael Baldea will be honored with the Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology, which recognizes an individual’s sustained excellence in contributing to the advancement of technology in the production, distribution and application of industrial gases by a sustained record of important fundamental research, innovation, technological development or the novel application of technology, either fostering or leading to important commercial results.


George Georgiou is the recipient of the William Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature, an award presented to a member of AIChE who is the author or co-author of an outstanding work in chemical engineering and whose contribution may consist of a review, a history of the development of a process, a theoretical contribution, a research report, or other material of interest and importance to the chemical engineering profession.


For more information on awards presented at this year’s conference and a list of previous award honorees, visit the AIChE Annual Meeting website here.

Posted on: