Brian Korgel Elected to the NAE


Photo of Brian KorgelProfessor Brian Korgel has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his work on the synthesis and applications of nanocrystals, nanowires and their assemblies.  

His fundamental breakthroughs in nanomaterials, processing and applications have had significant technical, commercial and societal impact, and his work in nanocrystals and nanowires led to the creation of two companies: Pinon Technologies and Innovalight, which grew to over 80 employees before it was purchased by DuPont in 2011. Korgel is the director of the Center for Next Generation Photovoltaics, a National Science Foundation Industry/ University Cooperative Research Center.

Korgel joined the UT Austin faculty in 1998 and holds the Edward S. Hyman Endowed Chair in Engineering and the T. Brockett Hudson Professorship in Chemical Engineering. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Professor Korgel is a past recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, the Progress Award and the Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the O’Donnell Award in Engineering from The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas.

Dr. Korgel joins 11 other current Texas ChE professors who are NAE members, including Drs. Allen, Edgar, Johnston, Georgiou, Heller, Paul, Peppas, Sanchez, Willson, Brennecke and McKetta. A total of 20 Texas ChE faculty or former faculty have been inducted to the NAE since its founding in 1964.

>>Read the Cockrell School of Engineering’s NAE announcement.

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted on: