James R. Fair

Friends, colleagues and former students of Jim Fair are joining together to create the James R. and Merle Fair Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Chemical Engineering. The endowment will honor Fair, who gave so much of himself to the lives of his students and colleagues, and will support in perpetuity the pursuit of graduate education in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Cockrell School of Engineering.

The endowment, which has a goal of $750,000, will be seeded with a generous $150,000 bequest made by Jim and Merle Fair in 2001. All new pledges in support of the Fair Fellowship may be paid over five calendar years.

Funds distributed annually from the James R. and Merle Fair Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Chemical Engineering will be used to aid in the recruitment and educational support of outstanding chemical engineering graduate students. If fully funded, the Fair Fellowship will become the department’s premier graduate fellowship and will significantly boost the university’s chemical engineering competitive advantage. All graduate students who hold this endowed fellowship will be recognized as the James R. and Merle Fair Graduate Fellow.

In light of the extraordinary opportunity to establish a named fellowship in honor of Jim Fair, the Department of Chemical Engineering looks to the former students, friends and colleagues of Dr. Fair to support this great initiative. Dr. Fair’s impact on the university and the chemical engineering department has been profound, and his research in the field of distillation and processing have forever changed the chemical industry.

Help us honor the legacy of Fair, a great and accomplished man who we all miss dearly. Download a pledge form or make your gift online.

For more information, or to ask questions, contact Assistant Director of Development Michael Barasch at (412) 720-4918 or michael.barasch@austin.utexas.edu.

James R. and Merle Fair Endowed Graduate Fellowship Executive Committee:

Jose L. Bravo, M.S. ChE 1981 Joan M. Schork, Ph.D. ChE 1986
R. Bruce Eldridge, Ph.D. ChE 1986 Hoshang Subwalla, Ph.D. ChE 1997
J. Antonio Garcia, Ph.D. ChE 1999 A. Frank Seibert, Ph.D. ChE 1986
Madhu Huggahalli, Ph.D. ChE 1998 Gerry G. McGlamery, Ph.D. ChE 1988
Posted on: